Best Presentation Award Winners 2015

JSI gives an award to the superior presenters in the workshop and poster session of the JSI Annual Meeting.
Two awardees are selected in an each category by workshop coordinators and chairpersons.
(exception: ONLY Category-9 is One awardee.)
This award is supported by BioLegend, Tomy Digital Biology and Sanofi.

Category-1: Hematopoiesis and Immune Environment
Bach2 represses myeloid programs to promote lymphoid progenitor development under both the steady state and infection Ari Itoh-Nakadai (Tohoku University)
Identification of cMoP and bona fide GMP in human umbilical cord blood
Shunsuke Kawamura (Tokyo Medical and Dental University)

Category-2: B cells
Intrathymic licensing of immigrating peripheral B cells for T cell tolerance induction
Tomoyoshi Yamano (Ludwig-Maximilians-Universitat)
Antigen-spe cific maturation of anti-nuclear antibodies in systemic lupus erythematosus
Shuhei Sakakibara (Osaka University)

Category-3: T cells
A tumor suppressor Menin controls CD8 T cell senescence by regulating energy metabolism
Junpei Suzuki (Ehime University)
Statistical analysis shows non-randomness of V/J gene selection in human TCR
Yotaro Katayama (The University of Tokyo)

Category-4: Helper T cells
Obesity drives Th17 cell differentiation by inducing the lipid metabolic kinase, ACC1
Yusuke Endo (Chiba University)
Human CXCL13-producing CD4 T cells preferentially differentiate under IL-2-limitted environment
Hiroyuki Yoshitomi (Kyoto University)

Category-5: Regulatory T cells
Establishment of regulatory T cell-specific super-enhancers
Yohko Kitagawa (Osaka University)
Foxp3 changes its partners and genomic binding regions in regulatory T cells in response to IL-4 stimulation
Norihito Hayatsu (RIKEN-IMS)

Category-6: Innate lymphocytes
1-C-W4-7-O/P Involvement of Natural Helper cells, a member of group 2 ILCs (ILC2) in the induction of obesity
Takaharu Sasaki (RIKEN-IMS)
Identification of progenitor cells specific to ILC1s and ILC3s in adult intestine
Takashi Ebihara (Washington University)

Category-7: Dendritic cells and macrophages
Transcription factor IRF8 governs the enhancer landscape dynamics in mononuclear phagocyte development
Daisuke Kurotaki (Yokohama City University)
Unique role of Cbfb2 variant in Langerhans cell development
Mari Tenno (RIKEN-IMS)

Category-8: Antigen presentation
p62/Sqstm1 plays a specific role for CD8+ T cell activation in antigen presenting cells following IFN-γ-induced disruption of the Toxoplasma gondii parasitophorous vacuoles
Youngae Lee (Osaka University)
Discovery of lipopeptide Ag-presenting molecules: its molecular identity and X-ray crystallographic structure
Daisuke Morita (Kyoto University)

Category-9: Trafficking
Spinster-homologue-2 (Spns2) controls S1P-driven lymphocyte egress from lymphoid organs
Szandor Simmons (Osaka University)

Category-10: Mast cells & granulocytes
The hIstidine transporter SLC15A4 regulates allergic responses by tuning the endo/lysosomal condition of mast cells
Toshihiko Kobayashi (National Center for Global Health & Medicine)
The novel role of LMIR7/CLM-3 in mast cell- and IgE-dependent anaphylaxis
Masamichi Isobe (Juntendo University)

Category-11: Allergy
Murine allergic rhinitis and nasal Th2 activation are mediated via TSLP- and IL-33-signaling pathways
Shoko Akasaki (Hyogo College of Medicine)
CXCL4 is a novel nickel binding protein and augments nickel allergy at elicitation phase
Toshinobu Kuroishi (Tohoku University)

Category-12: Cytokines and chemokines
Inflammation amplifier regulatory molecule NSZ1 controls NFκB specific chromatin accessibility via alternative splicing of a DNA methyltransferase
Toru Atsumi (Hokkaido University)
Involvement of a novel alpha9 integrin ligand, XCL1/Lymphotactin in autoimmune diseases
Naoki Matsumoto (Hokkaido University)

Category-13: Immunological memory
Distinct germinal center selection at local sites shapes memory B cell response to viral escape
Yu Adachi (National Institute of Infectious Diseases)
A role of IL-9 receptor on B cells in the T-dependent immune responses
Shogo Takatsuka (Tokyo University of Science)

Category-14: Virus infection
The role of mTOR in TLR3 responses to Herpes Simplex Virus infection
Ryota Sato (The University of Tokyo)
CD150 costimulation enhances SHIV-specific TFH cell responses in non-human primate models
Takuya Yamamoto (National Institutes of Biomedical Innovation, Health and Nutrition)

Category-15: Mycofungal/ parasite infection
Batf2 regulates Th17 responses by suppression of IL-23 production during Trypanosoma cruzi infection
Shoko Kitada (Osaka University)
Malaria-induced bone disorder triggered by chronic inflammation in the bone
Michelle Sue Jann Lee (Osaka University)

Category-16: Bacterial infection
Analysis of a novel subset of IFN-γ-producing DN2a γδ T cells in the periphery of mice
Shinya Hatano (Kyushu University)
CD300a on mast cells and dendritic cells control the pathogenesis of experimental sepsis
Gamage Sanath Udayanga Kankanam (University of Tsukuba)

Category-17: Endogeneous innate immunity and inflammation
MD-1 negatively regulates B cell-related inflammation
Natsuko Tanimura (The University of Tokyo)
A Novel Function of Human Pumilio Proteins in Cytoplasmic Sensing of Viral Infection
Ryo Narita (Kyoto University)

Category-18: Mucosal-Skin Immunity
The role of the gut microbiota in the development of experimental autoimmune encephalomyelitis
Eiji Miyauchi (RIKEN-IMS)
Lypd8 maintains gut homeostasis through separation of flagellated bacteria and colonic epithelia
Ryu Okumura (Osaka University)

Category-19: Tolerance and Immune suppression
Establishment of thymus transplant model to analyze peripheral T cell tolerance against pemphigus autoantigen, desmoglein 3
Hisato Iriki (Keio University)
The strength of inhibition by LAG-3 depends on properties of APCs
Takumi Maruhashi (Tokushima University)

Category-20: Organ-specific autoimmune diseases
RANKL on T cells is essential for inflammation in the CNS during EAE
Matteo Maurizio Guerrini (The University of Tokyo)
Activated increased number of T follicular helper subset 2 correlates with increased levels of IgG4, IL-4 and plasmablasts in IgG4-related disease
Mitsuhiro Akiyama (Keio University )

Category-21: Inflammatory arthritis
Rheumatoid arthritis patients-derived gut microbiota induce Th17-mediated arthritis in SKG mice
Yuichi Maeda (Osaka University)
TIARP regulates CXCL2/CXCR2 mediated neutrophil migration via the inhibition of IL-6
Asuka Inoue (University of Tsukuba)

Category-22: Systemic autoimmune diseases
Regulatory roles of TGF-β3 in lupus pathogenesis
Toshihiko Komai (The University of Tokyo)
Myeloperoxidase/HLA class II complexes are targets for autoantibodies in ANCA-associated vasculitis
Ryosuke Hiwa (Kyoto University)

Category-23: Tumor immunity
Metformin administration stimulates glycolysis of effector memory CD8TIL in tumor microenvironment Shingo Eikawa (Okayama University)
Tumor cell death accelerated migration of tumor infiltrating dendritic cells into draining lymph nodes
Taiki Moriya (Osaka Ohtani University)

Category-24: Human Immunology (Immunointervention)
The ulcerative colitis-associated gene RNF186 regulates gut homeostasis
Kosuke Fujimoto (Osaka University)
Development of a human hemato-lymphoid system in human cytokine knock-in Rag2-/-Il2rg-/- mice engrafted with peripheral blood mobilized CD34+ cells
Yasuyuki Saito (Kobe University / University Hospital Zurich)